Watermelon You Waiting For?

IMG_6877

Hi, friends!  It’s been a coon’s age since I’ve written a post, but now that the whole graduate school thing is over, I have a little more time to do the things I used to do enjoying, like making fancy food and taking pictures of it.  I was elated when I found a discount watermelon at the co-op, and could not to make one of my favorite summertime treats when I saw it:  watermelon gazpacho!  This recipe showcases all the bounty of summer and warm soil, namely the sweet heirloom tomatoes, the bold basil, the spicy garlic, all elevated by a little salt and the tang of lime.  The amounts of all the ingredients are simply a guideline.  Feel free to experiment to please your particular palate.  Enjoy!  

Watermelon Gazpacho:

Serves 8-10

  • 1 small sugar baby watermelon (or 5 c. watermelon puree)
  • 3 medium heirloom tomatoes (or 4 c. tomato puree)
  • 1 medium cucumber
  • 1 c. loosely packed basil
  • 1 c. lime juice
  • 1 onion
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp salt
  • fresh cracked pepper 

1)  Put all ingredients in blender or food processor and blend to desired consistency.  

2)  Enjoy!  

